Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

ROBERT W. EMBLY,
)



)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 99-2874 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW


On September 8, 1999, Robert W. Embly filed a petition appealing the Director of Revenue’s (Director’s) final decision assessing state sales tax, local sales tax, and a motor vehicle title penalty.  Embly argues that he does not owe sales tax because the sale of the vehicle was rescinded.

On January 27, 2000, this Commission convened a hearing.  Embly presented his case.  Senior Counsel James M. Hoagland represented the Director.  The last written argument was due on April 18, 2000.  

Findings of Fact

1. Embly decided to assist his 17-year-old son and his son’s fiancée with the purchase of a motor vehicle.

2. On February 5, 1999, Embly, his son, and his son’s fiancée purchased a 1996 Buick, Vehicle Identification No. 1G4NJ52M7TC404122, from Choice Auto Sales in Bonne Terre, Missouri.  

3. Embly, his son, and his son’s fiancée signed an installment contract for the purchase of the Buick on February 5, 1999.  The amount financed was $8,659.  A vehicle worth $1,495 was traded in as down payment for the purchase of the Buick.

4. The Assignment of Title section on the back of the title certificate on the Buick was completed to show Embly, his son, and his son’s fiancée as the purchasers.  Embly alone signed the Assignment of Title section on the back of the certificate of title for the Buick.  

5. Embly alone signed an application for Missouri title and license on February 5, 1999.  The application for Missouri title and license indicated that the owners were Embly, his son, and his son’s fiancée.

6. The certificate of title on the Buick and the application for Missouri title and license indicated that the purchase was subject to a first lien to Mercury Finance Company.

7. On February 6, 1999, Embly attempted to return the vehicle and rescind the purchase of the Buick.  Choice Auto Sales refused to rescind the transaction.  Choice Auto Sales refused to take delivery of the Buick and refused to return the vehicle that was traded in as a down payment for the Buick.

8. Mercury Finance Company repossessed the Buick on March 29, 1999.

9. Embly, his son, and his son’s fiancée have not paid tax on the purchase of the Buick.  

10.  On August 5, 1999, the Director assessed $317 in state sales tax, $206.33 in local sales tax, and a $75 title penalty against Embly, his son, and his son’s fiancée.  Embly appealed the assessment.

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear the Embly’ petition.  Sections 621.050.1.
   Embly has the burden of proof on the petition.  Section 621.050.2 and section 136.300, RSMo Supp. 1999. 


The Director argues that Embly owes tax under section 144.070.1, RSMo Supp. 1999, which provides: 

At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile . . ., he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . . in the acquisition of the motor vehicle . . ., or that no sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law[.]

Section 144.069, RSMo Supp. 1999, sets forth the applicable local tax:

All sales of motor vehicles . . . shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof, . . . and all applicable sales taxes levied by any political subdivision shall be collected on such sales by the state department of revenue on that basis.

Section 301.190.5, RSMo Supp. 1999, provides a penalty of $25 per thirty days to a maximum of $100 when “application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant[.]”


Embly argues that the sale of the Buick was rescinded.  However, a rescission did not occur because the seller did not agree to rescind the sale.  The seller refused to accept the Buick and refused to return the vehicle that was traded for the Buick as a down payment.  The Buick was subsequently repossessed by the finance company.  Section 144.071.1 provides:


In all cases where the purchaser of a motor vehicle . . . rescinds the sale of that motor vehicle . . . and receives a refund of 

the purchase price and returns the motor vehicle . . . to the seller within sixty calendar days from the date of the sale, the sales or use tax paid to the department of revenue shall be refunded to the purchaser upon proper application to the director of revenue.

That section requires paying the tax to the Director, returning the vehicle and receiving the sale price back within 60 days, and filing a claim for refund with the Director.  No rescission occurred, and no decision of the Director denying such a refund claim is before us. 
 


The law requires us to impose the tax and penalty.  Although we sympathize with Embly, the law does not allow an exception as requested by Embly, nor does it provide any authority for us to make an exception.  Neither the Director nor this Commission has any power to change the law.  Lynn v. Director of Revenue, 689 S.W.2d 45, 49 (Mo. banc 1985).


We conclude that Embly owes $317 in state sales tax, $206.33 in local sales tax, and a $75 title penalty.


SO ORDERED on May ____, 2000.



________________________________



WILLARD C. REINE



Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 1994 Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.
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