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DECISION


Richard Dohogne is subject to discipline because he failed to complete the required continuing professional education (“CPE”) hours and failed to submit documentation demonstrating that he is in compliance with the required CPE.  He is not subject to discipline for failing to respond to an inquiry by the State Board of Accountancy (“the Board”).  We deny the Board’s request for costs and fees because we do not have jurisdiction over the matter.
Procedure


On December 31, 2008, the Board filed a complaint.  On March 27, 2009, we served Dohogne with a copy of the complaint and our notice of complaint/notice of hearing.  Dohogne did not file an answer to the complaint.  

On June 17, 2009, the Board filed a motion for summary determination.
  Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.446(5) provides that we may decide this case without a hearing if the Board establishes facts that (a) Dohogne does not dispute and (b) entitle the Board to a favorable decision. 


The Board cites the request for admissions that was served on Dohogne on May 4, 2009.  Dohogne did not respond to the request.  Under Supreme Court Rule 59.01, the failure to answer a request for admissions establishes the matters asserted in the request, and no further proof is required.
  Such a deemed admission can establish any fact or any application of law to fact.
  That rule applies to all parties, including those acting  pro se. 
  Section 536.073
 and our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.420(1) apply that rule to this case.


We gave Dohogne until July 7, 2009, to respond to the motion, but he did not.  Therefore, the following facts are undisputed.

Findings of Fact

1. Dohogne holds a certificate and license to practice public accountancy.  Dohogne’s certificate was originally issued on November 9, 1998.  His license to practice public accountancy is current and active, with a present expiration date of  September 30, 2009.
2. Dohogne’s last address registered with the Board is 231 Azalea, Scott City, Missouri, 63780.
3. On January 8, 2008, the Board received Dohogne’s application for reinstatement of his license to practice public accountancy.
4. On Dohogne’s application, he stated that he did not have the 40 hours of CPE needed for reinstatement.
5. Dohogne’s application included a written statement in which he attested that he agreed to obtain the 40 hours of CPE within 60 days of his application.
6. On February 8, 2008, the Board provided written confirmation to Dohogne that it accepted his request to complete the 40 hours of CPE and gave a deadline of April 5, 2008, for Dohogne to submit documentation of his CPE to the Board.
7. The Board’s February 8, 2008, letter to Dohogne was mailed to Dohogne via first class mail at his last registered address.
8. The Board reinstated Dohogne’s license to practice public accountancy based upon his written attestation that he would complete the required 40 hours of CPE within 60 days of his application.
9. Despite receiving an extension of his required CPE, Dohogne failed to complete or otherwise submit documentation of the required 40 hours of CPE.
10. On July 24, 2008, the Board sent a letter to Dohogne by certified mail, requesting that he respond to the Board about his CPE by submitting a written response by August 29, 2008.
11. The certified mail was addressed to Dohogne at his last registered address, and the sender was identified on the envelope as the “Missouri State Board of Accountancy.”
12. Dohogne did not claim the certified mail, and the mail was returned to the Board as “unclaimed” on or about August 15, 2008.
13. Dohogne failed to contact the Board or provide a written response to the Board regarding the August 15, 2008, letter.

Conclusions of Law 


We have jurisdiction to hear this case.
  The Board has the burden of proving that Dohogne has committed an act for which the law allows discipline.
  Dohogne admitted the facts as we found them and that those facts are cause for discipline.  But statutes and case law instruct that we must “separately and independently” determine whether such facts constitute cause for discipline.
  Therefore, we independently assess whether the facts admitted allow discipline under the law cited.
I. Costs of Proceeding

The Board’s complaint asks for attorney fees under § 326.319:
3.  In any proceeding in which a remedy provided by subsection 1 or 2 of section 326.310 is imposed, the board may also require the respondent licensee to pay the costs of the proceeding if the board is a prevailing party or in settlement.  The moneys shall be placed in the state treasury to the credit of the “Missouri State Board of Accountancy Investigation Fund”, which is hereby created, to be used solely for investigations as provided in this chapter.  The moneys shall not be considered in calculating amounts to be transferred to general revenue as provided in subsection 2 of this section.  The fund shall be used solely for board investigations.

4.  The board shall set the amount of the fees which this chapter authorizes and requires by rule pursuant to chapter 536, RSMo.  The fees shall be set at a level to produce revenue which shall not substantially exceed the cost and expense of administering this chapter.

We do not have jurisdiction to authorize costs or fees under this statute.  Unlike § 536.087,
 which authorizes the agency making the decision to award attorney fees, § 326.319 refers specifically to the Board.  We have jurisdiction over the Board’s decisions only as authorized by 
statute.
  We have jurisdiction over whether there is cause for licensee discipline
 and whether an applicant should be licensed.
  But no statute, including § 326.319, gives us jurisdiction over the issue of costs and fees to be awarded if the Board is the prevailing party.  To the contrary, the legislature has instructed the Board, not this Commission, to set the amount of fees by rule.

We deny the Board’s request for costs and fees because we do not have jurisdiction over the matter.

II. Cause for Discipline


Section 326.310 states:
2.  The board may file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, or may initiate settlement procedures as provided by section 621.045, RSMo, against any certified public accountant or permit holder required by this chapter or any person who fails to renew or surrenders the person’s certificate, license or permit for any one or any combination of the following causes:

*   *   *

(6) Violation of, or assisting or enabling any person to violate, any provision of this chapter or any lawful rule or regulation adopted pursuant to this chapter;

*   *   *

(13) Violation of any professional trust or confidence[.]
A.  Violation of Rule – Subdivision (6)
1.  Failure to Complete CPE Hours

Regulation 20 CSR 2010-2.075 provides:

(1) The board may reinstate the license of any licensee provided:

(A) That person submits evidence to the board that he or she has  completed forty (40) hours of continuing professional education 
(CPE) during the twelve (12) months previous to making application for reinstatement of the license; or

(B) That person agrees to obtain the required forty (40) hours of continuing professional education within sixty (60) days of applying for reinstatement.  Continuing professional education taken within sixty (60) days before or after applying for reinstatement may be used to meet the requirement for the first year of licensure.

*   *   *
(3) Continuing education courses required under sections (1) and (2) of this rule shall comply with the provisions of the current continuing education requirements set forth in 4 CSR 10-4.010 to 4 CSR 10-4.041.  The forty (40) hours required in subsections (1)(A) and (B) above shall include a minimum of two (2) hours taken in the area of ethics.
Regulation 20 CSR 2010-3.060(2) provides:

A licensee shall be determined to have committed an act which reflects adversely on his or her or the firm’s fitness to engage in the practice of public accounting if he or she or the firm fails to comply with a rule adopted by the board for the purpose of implementing the provisions of sections 326.280 to 326.289, RSMo or with any order issued pursuant to either of the previously mentioned sections.

Regulation 20 CSR 2010-2.070(2)(D) provides that a licensee shall provide the Board with “[v]erification that the individual has met the Continuing Professional Education (CPE) requirements as described in Chapter 4[.]”

Regulation 20 CSR 2010-4.010(1)(A) provides that a licensee “seeking renewal of a license shall have completed no less than one hundred twenty (120) hours of continuing professional education . . . during the three (3)-year period preceding renewal” with a minimum of 20 hours being completed during each calendar year.  Regulation 20 CSR 2010-4.031 requires the licensee to maintain records regarding their CPE for a period of five years and authorizes the Board to verify the CPE reported by a licensee.

Dohogne admitted that he failed to complete the CPE and failed to maintain and submit documentation demonstrating that he is in compliance with the required CPE.  Dohogne violated 20 CSR 2010-4.010 and 20 CSR 2010-4.031.  There is cause for discipline under § 326.310.2(6).

2.  Failure to Respond to the Board


The Board argues that Dohogne’s failure to respond to its request for information violated 20 CSR 2010-3.060(7):

A licensee, when requested, shall respond to communications from the board within thirty (30) days of mailing of these communications by registered or certified mail.
(Emphasis added.)  Dohogne did not respond to the Board’s letter, but there is evidence that he never received it.
  In a recent case, Schlereth v. Hardy,
 the court found that when unclaimed certified mail is returned, there is insufficient notice and that due process requires the State to take additional steps.  While we realize that the Schlereth case involved loss of property, we find the rationale compelling.  Regulation 20 CSR 2010-3.060(7), like the statute at issue in Schlereth, requires notice by a method (certified mail or an option of certified or registered mail) that will provide proof of receipt.  Mailing an item creates a rebuttable presumption that the addressee received it.
  But the return of certified mail as unclaimed rebuts that presumption.  The sender is put on notice that the addressee did not receive the communication.

In addition, the Board’s position would authorize discipline of a licensee for failure to follow a deadline when he was clearly not put on notice of such a deadline.  “[T]here is nothing here to indicate that the addressee would know what the certified-mail notice contained.”
  The 
Board argues that Dohogne deliberately failed to pick up his mail, but the Schlereth court also addressed this by referencing Jones v. Flowers:  
Jones did not concern itself with why the addressee failed to claim the certified letter.  In fact, the Supreme Court allowed for the possibility that the addressee, like Hardy, simply would ignore the requests to pick to the certified letter.[
]


There is no cause for discipline under § 326.310.2(6) for violating 20 CSR 2010-3.060(7).
Professional Trust or Confidence – Subdivision (13)


Professional trust is the reliance on the special knowledge and skills that professional licensure evidences.
  It may exist not only between the professional and his clients, but also between the professional and his employer and colleagues.
  


Dohogne’s failure to complete the 40 hours of CPE results in denial of his renewal application.  No client, employer or colleague relied on the licensee’s special knowledge and skills.  Merely attending a class, even one required by the Board, evidences no special professional knowledge or skill.  

There is no cause for discipline under § 326.3 10.2(13).
Summary


There is cause for discipline under § 326.310.2(6).  There is no cause for discipline under § 326.310.2(13).

SO ORDERED on August 24, 2009.



________________________________



NIMROD T. CHAPEL, JR.


Commissioner
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