Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

HARLAND AND CELIA D. CUPP,
)



)



Petitioners,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 00-2775 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW


On November 22, 2000, Harland and Celia D. Cupp filed a petition appealing the Director of Revenue’s final decision assessing state sales tax, local sales tax, and a motor vehicle title penalty.  The Cupps’ petition states that they tried to rescind the sale, drove the car only once from the dealer to their home, and cannot afford to pay the assessment.

On March 1, 2001, this Commission convened a hearing.  The Cupps presented their case.  Senior Counsel Ronald C. Clements represented the Director.  The last written argument was filed on April 19, 2001.  

Findings of Fact

1.
On March 1, 2000, the Cupps purchased a 2000 Toyota Camry, Vehicle Identification No. JT2BG22K3Y0457811, from Feld Southpointe Toyota.  The purchase price of the vehicle was $22,880.  The Cupps signed a promissory note and security agreement stating that 

they would make monthly payments of $467.48 to Commerce Bank beginning on April 15, 2000.  The Cupps’ address on the date they purchased the vehicle was 14 Rock Church Drive, O’Fallon, St. Charles County, Missouri, 63366.

2. The Cupps attempted to return the vehicle to Feld Southpointe Toyota and attempted to rescind the sale.  The dealership refused the vehicle and refused to rescind the sale.

3. On April 15, 2000, the Cupps met with a bankruptcy attorney.  They filed for bankruptcy protection after April 15, 2000.

4. On April 24, 2000, the Cupps surrendered the Toyota to the lienholder, Commerce Bank. 

5. On November 9, 2000, the Director assessed $939.30 in state sales tax, $666.96 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty against the Cupps.  The assessment indicated that the Cupps paid $50, leaving a balance due of $1,656.26. 

6. On January 9, 2001, the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of Missouri issued an order releasing the Cupps from all dischargeable debts.  In re Cupp, Case 

No. 00-49645-293.

7. The Cupps arranged a $50/month payment plan with the Director after speaking to a Department representative by telephone.  They paid two installments pursuant to that plan, for a total of $100.  They stopped making monthly payments when they received another notice from the Director.  

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear the Cupps’ petition.  Sections 621.050.1.
  The Cupps have the burden of proof on the petition.  Sections 621.050.2 and 136.300. 


The Director argues that the Cupps owe tax under section 144.070.1, which provides: 

At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile . . ., he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . . in the acquisition of the motor vehicle . . ., or that no sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law[.]

Section 144.069 sets forth the applicable local tax:

All sales of motor vehicles . . . shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof, . . . and all applicable sales taxes levied by any political subdivision shall be collected on such sales by the state department of revenue on that basis.


Section 301.190.5 provides a penalty of $25 per thirty days to a maximum of $100 when “application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant[.]”  However, the Director agreed to abate the $100 penalty that had been assessed against the Cupps.


The Cupps state that they believed they could rescind the sale and that they attempted to do so.  However, a rescission did not occur because the seller did not agree to rescind the sale.  The dealership refused the Cupps’ attempt to return the vehicle and refused to rescind the sale.  The vehicle was subsequently surrendered to the finance company.  Section 144.071.1 provides: 


In all cases where the purchaser of a motor vehicle . . . rescinds the sale of that motor vehicle . . . and receives a refund of the purchase price and returns the motor vehicle . . . to the seller within sixty calendar days from the date of the sale, the sales or use tax paid to the department of revenue shall be refunded to the purchaser upon proper application to the director of revenue.

That statute requires paying the tax to the Director, returning the vehicle and receiving the sale price back within 60 days, and filing a claim for refund with the Director.  No rescission occurred, and no decision of the Director denying such a refund claim is before us.


The bankruptcy court’s order did not discharge the sales tax debt owed by the Cupps.  A discharge in bankruptcy does not discharge an individual debtor from sales tax liability.  11 U.S.C sections 507(a)(8) and 523(a)(1).  The Cupps submitted a letter from their bankruptcy attorney dated March 7, 2001, indicating that they would be required to pay the sales tax liability.    


The Cupps request a payment plan whereby they can pay the tax in monthly payments of $50.  The law does not allow this Commission to decide an alternative method of payment.  However, the Cupps may negotiate a payment plan with the Department of Revenue.


Although we sympathize with the Cupps, the law does not provide an exception as requested by the Cupps, nor does it provide any authority for us to make an exception.  Neither the Director nor this Commission has any power to change the law.  Lynn v. Director of Revenue, 689 S.W.2d 45, 49 (Mo. banc 1985).

Summary


We conclude that the Cupps are liable for $939.30 in state sales tax, and $666.96 in local sales tax, less the $100 that they have already paid.  They are not liable for a title penalty.  The Cupps owe a balance of $1,506.26 ($939.30 + $666.96 – $100.00 = $1,506.26).  


SO ORDERED on May 16, 2001.



________________________________



KAREN A. WINN



Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri.
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