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)
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DECISION


We grant Ronald D. Crider’s application for a massage therapist license because his criminal record is remote and not related to massage therapy.  We dismiss as moot his claim for a provisional license.  

Procedure


Ronald D. Crider filed complaints on February 11, 2004, and September 1, 2004.  The first complaint, Case No. 04-0195 TM, appealed the denial of Crider’s application to renew his provisional license as a massage therapist.  The second complaint, Case No. 04-1191 TM, appealed the denial of Crider’s application for a license as a massage therapist.  By order dated November 17, 2004, we consolidated the complaints.  


We convened a hearing on the complaints on May 20, 2004, and December 21, 2004.  At the first hearing, Mark D. Wheatley represented Crider.  Crider presented his own case at the 

second hearing.  Assistant Attorney General Daryl Hylton represented the Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage (“the Board”) at both hearings.  The last written argument was due on March 9, 2005.  

Findings of Fact

1. Crider meets all requirements for a massage therapist license.  

A.  Criminal Offenses

2. On July 20, 1991, Crider was 22 years old, unmarried, and living in Utah.  That morning, Chrysta Peterson went to Crider’s apartment to help clean up after a party the night before.  They had consensual sexual intercourse.  Crider was intoxicated.  He assumed that Peterson was old enough for lawful sexual intercourse because she looked like and associated with people who were.  Peterson was 15 years, six months, and three weeks old.  

3. Later that day, Peterson boasted that she had engaged in sexual intercourse with Crider.  A friend of her mother overheard the conversation.  When confronted by her mother, Peterson claimed that Crider had raped her.  Crider was arrested and charged with rape.  Peterson later recanted her story and admitted that their sexual intercourse was consensual.  

4. On December 13, 1991, the Utah Third District Court found Crider guilty of, on his plea of guilty to, a charge of felony unlawful sexual intercourse.  The court imposed a sentence, but stayed that sentence conditioned on successful completion of one year’s informal probation and payment of a fine, surcharge, and recoupment.  He did not pay the fine because he believed that his conviction was unjust.  

5. On June 25, 1998, the Utah Third District Court found Crider guilty of, on his plea of guilty to, three counts of criminal mischief because Crider and his friends slashed automobile tires while intoxicated.  The court imposed a sentence, but stayed that sentence conditioned on 

successful completion of one year’s probation; payment of a fine, a fee,  and restitution; and anger management counseling.    

6. On December 8, 2000, Crider ceased consuming alcohol and has not resumed it.  

B.  Subsequent Events

7. On May 22, 2003, Crider graduated from Metro Business College in Jefferson City, Missouri, with a certificate in massage therapy.  His grade point average was 3.93.  His only B was in Accounting I.  Crider was the only male in his class.  His classmates trusted him to behave professionally in massage classes, and he never failed to do so.  

8. The Board issued a provisional license to Crider to practice massage therapy effective May 23, 2003.  On June 13, 2003, Crider started work as a masseur at Country Club Hotel and Spa in Lake Ozark, Missouri.  Having a steady and sufficient stream of income, Crider began to pay past debts.  By this time he understood that he had a duty to pay the Utah fines whether he agreed with them or not.  However, he gave priority to debts related to his education and debts owed to his parents.  When the Board informed him that failure to pay the Utah fines could affect his license application, he began paying the Utah fines.  He has continued to make payments on those fines.  

9. Crider applied to take the National Certification Examination (“the examination”) administered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (“NCBTMB”).  He disclosed his Utah offenses.  On December 22, 2003, NCBTMB granted Crider’s application to take the examination.  On March 16, 2004, Crider took the examination.  Crider passed the examination with scores of  “high” in all four content areas.  On August 13, 2004, NCBTMB certified Crider’s knowledge and competency as a massage therapist.  

C.  Licensure

10. Crider’s provisional license lapsed on November 23, 2003, while he was waiting to take the examination.  Without a license, Crider was unemployable and had to take a leave of absence from his job starting November 22, 2003.  

11. Crider applied to renew his provisional license, which the Board denied by letter dated January 12, 2004.  

12. On July 23, 2004, Crider applied for a massage therapist license, which the Board denied by letter dated July 30, 2004.  

Conclusions of Law

We have jurisdiction to hear Crider’s complaints.  Section 621.120.
  

I.  Provisional License

We dismiss the claim for a provisional license application because it is moot.  Section 324.265.4 provides for a provisional license for persons awaiting the examination that determines, in part, their eligibility for a massage therapist license.  Section 324.265.6 allows renewal of a provisional license:

A provisional license may, at the discretion of the board, be renewed once, and a student license may be renewed until the student completes such student's training. 

However, under § 324.265.4, a provisional license lasts only as long as the examination results are unknown:

An applicant who possesses the qualifications specified in subsection 2 of this section to take the examination approved by the board may be granted a provisional license to engage in the practice of massage therapy until the date of the next examination, and thereafter until the results of the examination are known. 

(Emphasis added.)  

The results of Crider’s examination are known.  He is no longer eligible for a provisional license.  When an event has occurred that makes our decision unnecessary or makes it impossible for us to grant effectual relief, the case is moot.  Rosenfeld v. Thoele, 28 S.W.3d 446, 451 (Mo. App., E.D. 2000).  Crider’s application for a provisional license is moot.  We dismiss that claim.  

II.  License

Crider has the burden of proving that he meets the qualifications for a license.  Section 621.120.  Section 324.265.1 sets forth those qualifications:  

A person desiring a license to practice massage therapy shall be at least eighteen years of age, shall pay the appropriate required application fee, and shall submit satisfactory evidence to the board of meeting at least one of the following requirements:


(1) Has passed a statistically valid examination on therapeutic massage and body work which is approved by the board, prior to August 28, 1999, and applies for such license by December 31, 2000; or


(2) Completing massage therapy studies consisting of at least five hundred hours of supervised instruction and subsequently passing an examination approved by the board.  The examination may consist of school examinations.  The course of instruction shall be approved by the board.  The five hundred hours shall consist of three hundred hours dedicated to massage theory and practice techniques, one hundred hours dedicated to the study of anatomy and physiology, fifty hours dedicated to business practice, professional ethics, hygiene and massage law in the state of Missouri, and fifty hours dedicated to ancillary therapies, including cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first aid; or


(3) Has completed five hundred hours in an apprenticeship with a certified mentor and has successfully passed an examination approved by the board; or


(4) Has been licensed or registered as a massage therapist in another state, territory or commonwealth or the District of Columbia, which maintains standards of practice and licensure which substantially conform to the requirements in force in this state;


(5) Has been engaged in the practice of massage therapy for at least ten years prior to August 28, 1999, and applies for such license by December 31, 2000; or


(6) Has been in the practice of massage therapy for at least three years prior to August 28, 1999, has completed at least one hundred hours of formal training in massage approved by the board and applies for such license by December 31, 2000.

The Board agrees that Crider meets those qualifications.


The Board’s answer sets forth its grounds for denying Crider’s application.  Ballew v. Ainsworth, 670 S.W.2d 94, 103 (Mo. App., E.D. 1984).  It cites Crider’s criminal history and 

§ 324.262, which provides:


1.  The board may refuse to issue, renew or reinstate any license required by sections 324.240 to 324.275 for one or any combination of causes stated in subsection 2 of this section.  The board shall notify the applicant in writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his or her right to file a complaint with the administrative hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo. 


2.  The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the administrative hearing commission as provided by chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any license issued pursuant to sections 324.240 to 324.275 or any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered his or her license for any one or any combination of the following causes: 


(1) The person has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, in a criminal prosecution pursuant to the laws of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to the qualifications, functions or duties of the profession regulated pursuant to sections 324.240 to 324.275, for any offense an essential element of which is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed[.]

(Emphasis added.)  The elements of Utah’s crime of unlawful sexual intercourse are:

(1) For purposes of this section “minor” is a person who is 14 years of age or older, but younger than 16 years of age, at the time the sexual activity described in this section occurred.

(2) A person commits unlawful sexual activity with a minor if . . . the actor:


(a) has sexual intercourse with the minor[.]

Utah Code Ann. § 76-5-401.  


Therapeutic massage:

involves the treatment of the body's tonus
 system through the scientific or skillful touching, rubbing, pressing or other movements of the soft tissues of the body with the hands, forearms, elbows, or feet, or with the aid of mechanical apparatus, for relaxation, therapeutic, remedial or health maintenance purposes to enhance the mental and physical well-being of the client[.]

Section 324.240(7).  The act of unlawful sexual intercourse is reasonably related to therapeutic massage only in that both involve consensual intimate touching.  


Violence is the exertion of physical force so as to injure or abuse.  MERRIAM-WEBSTER'S COLLEGIATE DICTIONARY 1319 (10th ed. 1993).  Violence is an essential element of criminal mischief in Utah because Utah Code Ann. § 76-6-106 provides:

(2) A person commits criminal mischief if the person:

*   *   *


(c) intentionally damages, defaces, or destroys the property of another[.]

Damaging property is a violent act.  


However, the conduct described in § 324.262.2(1) constitutes grounds on which the Board “may” deny a license.  "May" means an option, not a mandate.  S.J.V. ex rel. Blank v. Voshage, 860 S.W.2d 802, 804 (Mo. App., E.D. 1993).  Crider’s appeal vests in this Commission the same degree of discretion as the Board, and we need not exercise it the same 

way.  State Bd. of Regis'n for the Healing Arts v. Finch, 514 S.W.2d 608, 614 (Mo. App., K.C.D. 1974).


To guide our exercise of discretion, we adopt the standard set forth at § 314.200.  That statute sets forth a standard under which we may consider criminal history, but we also consider: 

[1] the nature of the crime committed in relation to the license which the applicant seeks, [2] the date of the conviction, [3] the conduct of the applicant since the date of the conviction and [4] other evidence as to the applicant's character.

The crime of unlawful sexual intercourse does not involve any assault or unconsented contact, and Crider’s indiscretion is over 14 years in the past.  Crider’s vandalism is less remote in time – seven years – but unrelated to therapeutic massage.  The Board cites nothing in the last seven years for which to deny Crider’s application.  On the contrary, Crider has admitted the wrongful nature of his offenses, actively sought to take responsibility for his life, refrained from alcohol, and gained a marketable skill with which he may pay his debts, including the fines due the State of Utah.  To deny him that livelihood would not protect the people of the State of Missouri from any threat.  


Having observed Crider’s demeanor and weighed his testimony and the other evidence, we conclude that Crider is qualified for licensure as a massage therapist and that his criminal record should not prevent him from practicing that profession.  

Summary


We grant Crider’s application for a massage therapist license.  


SO ORDERED on April 20, 2005.



________________________________



JUNE STRIEGEL DOUGHTY



Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri unless otherwise noted.


	�“[A] state of partial contraction characteristic of normal muscle.”  MERRIAM-WEBSTER'S COLLEGIATE DICTIONARY 1243 (10th ed. 1993).
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