Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

DAVID A. COBB & PAULA S. BLEDSOE,
)



)



Petitioners,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 99-3700 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER


On December 15, 1999, David A. Cobb and Paula S. Bledsoe (Petitioners) filed a petition appealing the Director of Revenue’s final decision assessing state sales tax, local sales tax, and a motor vehicle title penalty.  Petitioners indicated that they returned the vehicle after purchasing it because they could not afford the payments.

On February 18, 2000, the Director filed a motion for summary determination of the petition.  Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.450(4)(C) provides that we may decide this case without a hearing if the Director establishes facts that (a) Petitioners do not dispute and (b) entitle the Director to a favorable decision.  ITT Commercial Fin. Corp. v. Mid-Am. Marine Supply Corp., 854 S.W.2d 371, 380-82 (Mo. banc 1993).

The Director cites the request for admissions that he served on Petitioners on January 7, 2000.  Under Supreme Court Rule 59.01, the failure to answer a request for admissions 

establishes the matters in the request conclusively.  The party making the request is entitled to rely upon the facts asserted in the request, and no further proof in required.  Killian Constr. Co. v. Tri-City Constr. Co., 693 S.W.2d 819, 827 (Mo. App., W.D. 1985).  Such a deemed admission can establish any fact or any application of law to fact.  Linde v. Kilbourne, 543 S.W.2d 543, 545-46 (Mo. App., W.D. 1976).  That rule applies to all parties, including those acting pro se.  Research Hosp. v. Williams, 651 S.W.2d 667, 669 (Mo. App., W.D. 1983).  Section 536.073
  and our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.420(1) apply that rule to this case. 


We gave Petitioners until March 9, 2000, to file a response to the motion, but they did not respond.  Therefore, the following facts are undisputed. 

Findings of Fact

1.  Petitioners purchased a 1993 Buick, Vehicle Identification No. 1G4NV14N4PC251854. Petitioners’ address on the date they purchased the vehicle was 217 East Main, Hardin, Missouri, 64035.

2. Petitioners have not paid tax on that purchase.  Petitioners owe $232.38 in state sales tax, $137.50 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty.  Petitioners did not have good cause for failing to pay the sales tax on the 1993 Buick within 30 days of the date of purchase.  

3. On December 9, 1999, the Director assessed the amounts in Finding 2 against Petitioners.

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear the petition.  Section 621.050.1, RSMo 1994.  We do not merely review the Director’s decision, but we find the facts and make an independent decision 

by applying existing law to the facts.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20 (Mo. banc 1990).  


Petitioners have the burden of proof on the petition.  Section 621.050.2, RSMo 1994.  

As the defending party, the Director shows his right to a favorable decision on a claim by establishing facts that negate any element of that claim.  ITT Commercial Fin. Corp., 

854 S.W.2d at 381.  


The Director argues that Petitioners owe tax under section 144.070.1, which provides: 

At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile . . ., he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . . in the acquisition of the motor vehicle . . ., or that no sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law[.]

Section 144.069 sets forth the applicable local tax:

All sales of motor vehicles . . . shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof, . . . and all applicable sales taxes levied by any political subdivision shall be collected on such sales by the state department of revenue on that basis.

Section 301.190.5 provides a penalty of $25 per thirty days to a maximum of $100 when “application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant[.]”


Petitioners’ admissions require us to impose the tax and penalty.  We do no decide whether Petitioners are entitled to a refund of the tax under section 144.071.  That section requires paying the tax to the Director, returning the vehicle and receiving the sale price back 

within 60 days, and filing a claim for refund with the Director.  No decision of the Director denying such a refund claim is before us.   


Therefore, we grant the Director’s motion and enter our decision in the Director’s favor.  We conclude that Petitioners owe $232.38 in state sales tax, $137.50 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty.  We cancel the hearing.


SO ORDERED on March 16, 2000.



________________________________



WILLARD C. REINE



Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 1999 Supplement to the Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.
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