Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

KENNETH AND SUSAN CARTER, 
)



)



Petitioners,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 04-0900 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION 


The law does not entitle Kenneth and Susan Carter to a refund of sales tax paid on their  

purchase of a motor vehicle.  

Procedure


On July 12, 2004, the Carters appealed the Director of Revenue’s (“the Director”) denial of a claim for a refund of sales tax paid on a motor vehicle.  


On August 2, 2004, the Director filed a motion for summary determination.  We gave the Carters until August 23, 2004, to respond to the motion, but they did not respond.  


Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.440(3)(B) provides that we may decide this case in any party’s favor without a hearing if any party establishes facts that (a) no party disputes and 

(b) entitle any party to a favorable decision.  

Findings of Fact

1. On October 10, 2003, the Carters purchased a 2000 Ford pickup for $11,000.  They paid $464.75 in state sales tax and $385 in local sales tax on the purchase.  

2. On May 17, 2004, Kenneth Carter sold a 1996 Chevrolet for $7,500.  

3. On June 14, 2004, the Carters submitted a request to the Director for a refund of sales tax based on their purchase of a replacement vehicle.  

4. On June 21, 2004, the Director issued a final decision denying the refund claim, stating that the vehicle purchase and vehicle sale were more than 180 days apart. 

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear the Carters’ petition.  Section 621.050.1.
  The Carters have the burden to prove that the law entitles them to a refund.  Section 621.050.2.  


Section 144.025.1, RSMo Supp. 2003, provides:

[W]here any article on which sales or use tax has been paid, credited, or otherwise satisfied or which was exempted or excluded from sales or use tax is taken in trade as a credit or part payment on the purchase price of the article being sold, the [sales] tax imposed by sections 144.020 and 144.440 shall be computed only on that portion of the purchase price which exceeds the actual allowance made for the article traded in or exchanged, if there is a bill of sale or other record showing the actual allowance made for the article traded in or exchanged. . . .  This section shall also apply to motor vehicles . . . sold by the owner . . . if the seller purchases or contracts to purchase a subsequent motor vehicle . . . within one hundred eighty days before or after the date of the sale of the original article[.]

(Emphasis added).  


The Carters do not dispute that they sold the 1996 Chevrolet more than 180 days after they purchased the 2000 Ford as a replacement vehicle.  They argue that the 2000 Ford was a 

salvage vehicle and did not pass inspection until March 6, 2004.  Therefore, they did not apply for salvage title and pay sales tax until that time.  However, the law does not provide an exception to the 180-day time limit, nor does it provide any authority for us to make an exception. They did not sell the 1996 Chevrolet within 180 days after purchasing the 2000 Ford.  Neither the Director nor this Commission has any power to change the law.  Lynn v. Director of Revenue, 689 S.W.2d 45, 49 (Mo. banc 1985). 


Therefore, we deny the Carters’ claim for refund.


SO ORDERED on September 17, 2004.



________________________________



JOHN J. KOPP  


Commissioner

	�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri.  
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