Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

MICHAEL J. BYRD, 
)



)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 03-1419 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

DECISION 


Michael J. Byrd is not entitled to a refund of sales tax paid on his purchase of a motor vehicle because he did not sell his old vehicle within 180 days after the purchase.  

Procedure


On July 14, 2003, Byrd appealed the Director of Revenue’s denial of a claim for a refund of sales tax paid on a replacement motor vehicle.

On July 17, 2003, the Director filed a motion, with supporting exhibits, for summary determination of the petition.  The Director argues that Byrd did not sell the old vehicle in time to get the sales tax refund.  Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.440(3)(B) provides that we may decide this case without a hearing if the Director establishes facts that (a) Byrd does not dispute and 

(b) entitle the Director to a favorable decision.  We gave Byrd until August 4, 2003, to file a response to the motion, but he did not respond.  

Findings of Fact

1.  On September 24, 2002, Byrd and his wife purchased a 2002 Ford for $31,488.80. The Byrds paid $1,330.41 in state sales tax and $984.03 in local sales tax on that purchase.

2.  On April 27, 2003, the Byrds sold a 1994 Jeep for $3,000.  

3.  Byrd filed a claim for a refund of the sales tax on the difference between the purchase price of the Ford and the sale price of the Jeep.  

4.  On June 4, 2003, the Director issued a final decision denying the refund claim.  

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear Byrd’s petition.  Section 621.050.1.
  Section 144.025.1 provides:

[W]here any article is taken in trade as a credit or part payment on the purchase price of the article being sold, the [sales] tax imposed by sections 144.020 and 144.440 shall be computed only on that portion of the purchase price which exceeds the actual allowance made for the article traded in . . . . This section shall also apply to motor vehicles . . . sold by the owner . . . if the seller purchases or contracts to purchase a subsequent motor vehicle . . . within one hundred eighty days before or after the date of the sale of the original article[.]

(Emphasis added).  


Byrd agrees that he did not sell the Jeep within 180 days after he purchased the Ford. Byrd argues that he attempted to sell the Jeep since October 2002 and was eventually forced to lower the selling price below the actual value of the vehicle.  He cites the poor economy as the probable reason for the difficulty in selling the Jeep.  However, neither the Director nor this 

Commission has any power to change the law.  Lynn v. Director of Revenue, 689 S.W.2d 45, 49 (Mo. banc 1985).  Therefore, we are not authorized to create an exception to the statutory time limit.  


We deny Byrd’s sales tax refund claim.


SO ORDERED on August 18, 2003.



________________________________



CHRISTOPHER GRAHAM 



Commissioner

	�All statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri.  
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