Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

GLORIA J. BURNEY,
)




)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No.  00-2610 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER


On October 23, 2000, Gloria J. Burney filed a petition appealing the Director of Revenue’s final decision assessing state sales tax, local sales tax, and a motor vehicle title penalty.  On January 3, 2001, the Director filed a motion for summary determination of the petition.  Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.450(4)(C) provides that we may decide this case without a hearing if the Director establishes facts that (a) Burney does not dispute and (b) entitle the Director to a favorable decision.  Section 536.073.3;
 ITT Commercial Fin. Corp. v. Mid-Am. Marine Supply Corp., 854 S.W.2d 371, 380-82 (Mo. banc 1993).


The Director cites the request for admissions that he served on Burney on November 29, 2000.  Under Supreme Court Rule 59.01, the failure to answer a request for admissions establishes the matters in the request conclusively.  The party making the request is entitled to 

rely upon the facts asserted in the request, and no further proof is required.  Killian Constr. Co. v. Tri-City Constr. Co., 693 S.W.2d 819, 827 (Mo. App., W.D. 1985).  Such a deemed admission can establish any fact or any application of law to fact.  Linde v. Kilbourne, 543 S.W.2d 543, 545-46 (Mo. App., K.C.D. 1976).  That rule applies to all parties, including those acting pro se.  Research Hosp. v. Williams, 651 S.W.2d 667, 669 (Mo. App., W.D. 1983).  Section 536.073 and our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.420(1) apply that rule to this case.


We gave Burney until January 19, 2001, to respond to the motion, but she did not respond.  Therefore, the following facts are undisputed.

Findings of Fact

1. Burney purchased a 1998 Dodge, Vehicle Identification No. 1B3EJ56HXWN248525.  On the date of that purchase, Burney’s address was 14034 Lawrence 1050, Stolts City, MO  65756.  Burney did not pay tax on that purchase, and did not have good cause for failing to pay the tax within 30 days of the purchase.  

2. Burney owes $570.38 in state sales tax, $135.00 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty.  

3. By final decision dated September 7, 2000, the Director assessed those amounts against Burney.

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear Burney’s petition.  Section 621.050.1.  We do not review the Director’s decision, but find the facts and make the decision by applying existing law to the facts.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20 (Mo. banc 1990).  We must do what the law requires the Director to do.  Id. at 20-21.


Burney has the burden of proof on the petition.  Section 621.050.2.  As the defending party, the Director shows his right to a favorable decision on Burney’s claim by establishing facts that negate any element of that claim.  ITT Commercial Fin. Corp., 854 S.W.2d at 381.


The Director argues that Burney owes sales tax under section 144.070.1, which provides:


At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile . . ., he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . . in the acquisition of the motor vehicle . . ., or that no sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law[.]

Section 144.069 sets forth the applicable local sales tax: 


All sales of motor vehicles . . . shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof, . . . and all applicable sales taxes levied by any political subdivision shall be collected on such sales by the state department of revenue on that basis.

Section 301.190.5 provides a penalty of $25 per 30 days to a maximum of $100 when an “application for the certificate [of title] is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant[.]”  


Burney’s admissions require us to impose the tax and penalty.  Therefore, we grant the Director’s motion.  We enter our decision in the Director’s favor.  We conclude that Burney owes $570.38 in state sales tax, $135.00 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty.  We cancel the hearing.


SO ORDERED on February 1, 2001.




________________________________




KAREN A. WINN




Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri.
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