Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

JAMES BROOKS, III,
)



)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 00-0987 RV




)

DIRECTOR OF REVENUE,
)




)



Respondent.
)

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER


On April 10, 2000, James Brooks, III, filed a petition appealing the Director of Revenue’s final decision assessing state sales tax, local sales tax, and a motor vehicle title penalty.

On July 11, 2000, the Director filed a motion for summary determination of the petition.  Our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.450(4)(C) provides that we may decide this case without a hearing if the Director establishes facts that (a) Brooks does not dispute and (b) entitle the Director to a favorable decision.  ITT Commercial Fin. Corp. v. Mid-Am. Marine Supply Corp., 854 S.W.2d 371, 380-82 (Mo. banc 1993).

The Director cites the request for admissions that he served on Brooks on May 11, 2000.  Under Supreme Court Rule 59.01, the failure to answer a request for admissions establishes the matters in the request conclusively.  The party making the request is entitled to rely upon the 

facts asserted in the request, and no further proof in required.  Killian Constr. Co. v. Tri-City Constr. Co., 693 S.W.2d 819, 827 (Mo. App., W.D. 1985).  Such a deemed admission can establish any fact or any application of law to fact.  Linde v. Kilbourne, 543 S.W.2d 543, 545-46 (Mo. App., W.D. 1976).  That rule applies to all parties, including those acting pro se.  Research Hosp. v. Williams, 651 S.W.2d 667, 669 (Mo. App., W.D. 1983).  Section 536.073,
 and our Regulation 1 CSR 15-3.420(1) apply that rule to this case. 


We gave Brooks until July 27, 2000, to file a response to the motion, but he did not respond.  Therefore, the following facts are undisputed. 

Findings of Fact

1.  On June 18, 1999, Brooks purchased a 1989 Pontiac, Vehicle Identification No. 1G2HX54C3KW210595.  Brooks’ address on the date he purchased the vehicle was 8108 Titus, St. Louis, Missouri, 63114.

2. Brooks has not paid tax on that purchase.  Brooks owes $168.79 in state sales tax, $69.91 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty.  Brooks had no good cause for failing to pay the sales tax on the 1989 Pontiac within 30 days of the date of purchase.  

3. On March 9, 2000, the Director assessed the amounts in Finding 2 against Brooks.

Conclusions of Law


We have jurisdiction to hear Brooks’ petition.  Section 621.050.1, RSMo 1994.  We do not merely review the Director’s decision, but find the facts and make an independent decision by applying existing law to the facts.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20 (Mo. banc 1990).  We must do what the law requires the Director to do.  Id. at 20-21. 


Brooks has the burden of proof on the petition.  Section 621.050.2, RSMo 1994, and section 136.300.  As the defending party, the Director shows his right to a favorable decision on a claim by establishing facts that negate any element of that claim.  ITT Commercial Fin. Corp., 854 S.W.2d at 381.  


The Director argues that Brooks owes tax under section 144.070.1, which provides: 

At the time the owner of any . . . motor vehicle . . . which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile . . ., he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . . in the acquisition of the motor vehicle . . ., or that no sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law[.]

Section 144.069 sets forth the applicable local tax:

All sales of motor vehicles . . . shall be deemed to be consummated at the address of the owner thereof, . . . and all applicable sales taxes levied by any political subdivision shall be collected on such sales by the state department of revenue on that basis.

Section 301.190.5 provides a penalty of $25 per thirty days to a maximum of $100 when “application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant[.]”


Brooks’ admissions require us to impose the tax and penalty.  We note that Brooks failed to respond to the Director’s request for admissions and failed to appear at the hearing scheduled for August 3, 2000.


Therefore, we grant the Director’s motion and enter our decision in the Director’s favor.  We conclude that Brooks owes $168.79 in state sales tax, $69.91 in local sales tax, and a $100 title penalty. 


SO ORDERED on August 10, 2000.



________________________________



SHARON M. BUSCH



Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 1999 Supplement to the Revised Statutes of Missouri, unless otherwise noted.
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