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)
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)

DECISION 


Clyde Black is liable for Missouri sales tax and fees on his purchase of a trailer.  We waive the title penalty.  
Procedure


On May 10, 2005, Black appealed the Director of Revenue’s assessment of motor vehicle sales tax, title penalty, and fees on the purchase of a trailer.  This Commission convened a hearing on the complaint on October 20, 2005.  Black represented himself.  Senior Counsel James L. Spradlin represented the Director.  The last written argument was due on November 11, 2005.  

Findings of Fact


1.  On July 29, 2004, Black and his girlfriend, Nancy Shifflett, purchased a 1992 Jayco trailer for $7,000.  Black and Shifflett resided in Joplin, Missouri, at the time.  The trailer was for 
Shifflett’s use, but Black co-signed because Shifflett did not have sufficient credit to make the purchase.  Shifflett had possession of the certificate of title.  

2.  Neither Black nor Shifflett paid sales tax on the purchase of the trailer.

3.  Black was hospitalized in January 2005 and, when he was released, discovered that Shifflett and the trailer were gone.  He reported a theft to the police.  


4.  A few months later, Shifflett called Black and said that she had left the trailer in a park.  Black looked at the trailer and found that it had been vandalized.  Black called the lender and informed the lender that he did not want a trailer that had been destroyed.  The lender took the trailer back.  


6.  On April 7, 2005, the Director issued an assessment against Black on his purchase of the trailer, as follows:  

State sales tax

$295.75
Local sales tax

$173.25
Title penalty

$200.00

Title application fee
$    8.50

Processing fee

$    2.50

Total


$680.00
Conclusions of Law 


We have jurisdiction to hear Black’s complaint.
  Black has the burden to prove that he is not liable for the amounts that the Director assessed.
  Our duty in a tax case is not merely to review the Director’s decision, but to find the facts and to determine, by the application of existing law to those facts, the taxpayer’s lawful tax liability for the period or transaction at issue.
  We may do whatever the law permits the Director to do, and we must do what the Director must do.

I.  Statutory Framework

Section 144.020.1 imposes a sales tax upon all sellers for the privilege of engaging in the business of selling tangible personal property at retail in this state.  On most sales transactions, the Director receives sales tax remitted by sellers, who collect the sales tax from the purchasers.
  Section 144.020.1(8) provides that the purchase or use of motor vehicles shall be taxed as provided in §§ 144.070 and 144.440.  Section 144.070 imposes on vehicle purchasers the obligation to pay sales tax upon registering the vehicle in Missouri:  
At the time the owner of any new or used motor vehicle, trailer, boat, or outboard motor which was acquired in a transaction subject to sales tax under the Missouri sales tax law makes application to the director of revenue for an official certificate of title and the registration of the automobile . . . , he shall present to the director of revenue evidence satisfactory to the director of revenue showing the purchase price . . ., and if sales tax was incurred in its acquisition, the applicant shall pay or cause to be paid to the director of revenue the sales tax provided by the Missouri sales tax law.[
]

(Emphasis added.)   

Section 301.130 sets forth requirements for the registration and license:  


1.  The director of revenue, upon receipt of a proper application for registration, required fees and any other information which may be required by law, shall issue to the applicant a certificate of registration in such manner and form as the director of revenue may prescribe and a set of license plates, or other evidence of registration, as provided herein. . . .

*   *   * 


7.  No motor vehicle or trailer shall be operated on any highway of this state unless it shall have displayed thereon the license plate or set of license plates issued by the director of revenue and authorized by section 301.140. . . .

Section 301.271 provides an exception for non-residents.    


Section 301.190, RSMo Supp. 2004, sets forth requirements for the certificate of ownership:


1.  No certificate of registration of any motor vehicle or trailer. . . shall be issued by the director of revenue unless the applicant therefor shall make application for and be granted a certificate of ownership of such motor vehicle or trailer, or shall present satisfactory evidence that such certificate has been previously issued to the applicant for such motor vehicle or trailer. . . .

*   *   *


5.  The fee for each original certificate so issued shall be eight dollars and fifty cents, in addition to the fee for registration of such motor vehicle or trailer.  If application for the certificate is not made within thirty days after the vehicle is acquired by the applicant, a delinquency penalty fee of twenty-five dollars for the first thirty days of delinquency and twenty-five dollars for each thirty days of delinquency thereafter, not to exceed a total of one hundred dollars before November 1, 2003, and not to exceed a total of two hundred dollars on or after November 1, 2003, shall be 

imposed, but such penalty may be waived by the director for good cause shown. . . .  

II.  Application of Statutes to This Case

Section 301.130.1 governs applications for a certificate of registration and license plates.  Section 301.130.7 provides that no motor vehicle or trailer shall be operated on any highway of this state unless it shall have displayed thereon the license plate issued by the Director.  Section 301.271 allows an exception for non-residents.  Section 301.190.1, RSMo Supp. 2004, provides that no certificate of registration shall be issued unless the applicant makes application for and is granted a certificate of ownership, or presents satisfactory evidence that a certificate of ownership has previously been issued.  Section 144.070 makes payment of the Missouri sales tax simultaneous with the application for certificate of title and for registration of the vehicle or trailer.  Therefore, the statutes require that Missouri residents who purchase and operate their 
vehicles or trailers in this state must register, apply for title, and pay tax on their vehicles or trailers in Missouri.   


Black argues that Shifflett was the person who used the trailer and that the Director should be attempting to collect the tax from Shifflett.  Shifflett’s liability is not before this Commission.  The only issue before us is Black’s appeal from the Director’s assessment.  Because Black was a co-owner, he cannot avoid responsibility for the sales tax and fees under the law.
  

Although Black cannot escape liability for the sales tax and fees, we may waive the penalty “for good cause shown.”  As to the penalty, we are given discretion and may consider Black’s arguments of good cause.  Black states that he assumed that Shifflett paid the taxes and sent in the title application.  Shifflett had possession of the trailer and had the certificate of title; Black did not.  Black had good cause for not applying for title to the trailer.  Therefore, we waive the penalty.    
Summary


Black is liable for Missouri sales tax, the title application fee, and the processing fee.  We waive the title penalty for good cause shown.  

SO ORDERED on November 17, 2005.



________________________________



KAREN A. WINN


Commissioner

�Section 621.050.1.  Statutory references, unless otherwise noted, are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri.


�Sections 136.300.2 and 621.050.2.  


�J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20-21 (Mo. banc 1990).


�State Bd. of Regis’n for the Healing Arts v. Finch, 514 S.W.2d 608, 614 (Mo. App., W.D. 1974).


�Sections 144.021 and 144.060.  


�Section 144.070.1.  


�Any legal remedies that Black might pursue against Shifflett are not before this Commission in this case.  
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