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State of Missouri
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)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 02-0005 EC




)

MISSOURI ETHICS COMMISSION,
)




)



Respondent.
)

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER


On January 2, 2002, Matthew Barnes filed a petition appealing the $280 fee that the Missouri Ethics Commission (Ethics) assessed for the late filing of a personal financial disclosure statement (disclosure statement).  


On June 25, 2002, Ethics filed a motion for summary determination.  We gave Barnes until July 11, 2002, to respond to the motion, but he did not respond.  To prevail on its motion, Ethics must establish facts that (i) Barnes does not dispute and (ii) entitle Ethics to a favorable decision.  ITT Commercial Fin. Corp. v. Mid-Am. Marine Supply Corp, 854 S.W.2d 371, 380-82 (Mo. banc 1993).  

Findings of Fact


1.
On April 4, 2001, the Governor appointed Barnes as an out-of-state member of the Board of Governors for Truman State University.  On May 11, 2001, the Missouri Senate confirmed the appointment.  

2. Thirty days after May 11, 2001, was June 10, 2001, which was a Sunday.  

3. Ethics received notice of the appointment on May 15, 2001.  

4. On May 15, 2001, Ethics sent a letter to Barnes informing him of his obligation to file a disclosure statement within 30 days of his appointment.  

5. On July 2, 2001, Ethics sent a letter to Barnes by certified mail informing him that it had not received his disclosure statement and that it would assess a late filing fee.    

6. Ethics received a disclosure statement from Barnes on July 9, 2001. 

7. On October 26, 2001, Ethics sent Barnes a letter by certified mail assessing a late filing fee of $280.  

Conclusions of Law


Section 105.963.4 gives this Commission (the Administrative Hearing Commission) jurisdiction to hear the petition.
  We must do whatever the law requires Ethics to do.  J.C. Nichols Co. v. Director of Revenue, 796 S.W.2d 16, 20-21 (Mo. banc 1990).  Ethics has the burden of proof.  Heidebur v. Parker, 505 S.W.2d 440, 444 (Mo. App., St.L.D. 1974).  


Barnes’ appointment became effective on May 11, 2001, pursuant to Mo. Const. art. IV, section 51.  Section 105.483 provides:  

Each of the following persons shall be required to file a financial interest statement:

*   *   *


(4) The members of . . . each board of regents or curators . . . of each state institution of higher education[.]

Section 105.487 provides:  

The financial interest statements shall be filed at the following times, but no person is required to file more than one financial interest statement in any calendar year:

*   *   *


(2) Each person appointed to office . . . shall file the statement within thirty days of such appointment[.]


Barnes argues that he sent in two disclosure statements in May and June 2001.  However, a document is filed when the proper official receives it.  Morant v. State, 783 S.W.2d 139, 140 (Mo. App., E.D. 1989).  Ethics established that it did not receive a disclosure statement until July 9, 2001.  Barnes has not produced any certified mailing receipts or documentation proving otherwise.   


Because 30 days after May 11, 2001, was June 10, 2001, a Sunday, Barnes’ statement was due on June 11, 2000, the next day that was not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.  Section 105.487(4).    

Section 105.963.3 provides:  


The executive director shall assess every person required to file a financial interest statement pursuant to sections 105.483 to 105.492 failing to file such a financial interest statement with the commission a late filing fee of ten dollars for each day after such statement is due to the commission.  The executive director shall mail a notice, by certified mail, to any person who fails to file such statement informing the individual required to file of such failure and the fees provided by this section.  If the person persists in such failure for a period in excess of thirty days beyond receipt of such notice, the amount of the late filing fee shall increase to one hundred dollars for each day thereafter that the statement is late, provided that the total amount of such fees assessed pursuant to this subsection per statement shall not exceed six thousand dollars.  


Ethics does not dispute that the fee should be limited to ten dollars per day because Barnes did not persist in failing to file the disclosure statement beyond receipt of notice of the failure to file and of the fees provided by this statute.  


This Commission is not authorized to change the terms of the statute, Lynn v. Director of Revenue, 689 S.W.2d 45, 49 (Mo. banc 1985); thus, we are required to uphold the fee assessment when the statute applies.   


Barnes’ disclosure statement was due June 11, 2001, but Ethics did not receive it until July 9, 2001, 28 days after it was due.  Therefore, Barnes is liable for the late filing fee of $280.  Section 105.963.3.  

Summary 

We conclude that Barnes is liable for the late filing fee of $280.  We cancel the hearing.


SO ORDERED on July 18, 2002.




_______________________________




WILLARD C. REINE




Commissioner

	�Barnes argues that he did not receive notice of Ethics’ assessment.  Ethics does not dispute our jurisdiction over Barnes’ petition.  
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