Before the

Administrative Hearing Commission

State of Missouri

RENEE ADAMS, 
)


)



Petitioner,
)




)


vs.

)

No. 05-1497 PH



)

MISSOURI BOARD OF PHARMACY, 
)



)



Respondent.
)

DECISION 

We dismiss Renee Adams’ appeal because it was not timely filed.  

Procedure

On October 5, 2005, Adams appealed the Missouri Board of Pharmacy’s (“the Board”) decision granting her registration as a pharmacy technician with restrictions/conditions.  

On October 28, 2005, the Board filed a motion to dismiss the complaint.  The Board argues that Adams did not file her complaint within 30 days of the Board’s decision.  We grant such a motion if, taking as true every factual allegation in the complaint, we still cannot grant any relief.  Berkowski v. St. Louis County Bd. of Election Comm’rs, 854 S.W.2d 819, 822 (Mo. App., E.D. 1993).


We gave Adams until November 22, 2005, to file a response to the motion, but she did not respond.  Therefore, we conclude that Adams does not dispute the following facts, as established by the Board’s affidavit.

Findings of Fact

1. On August 26, 2005, the Board mailed to Adams a decision by certified mail (dated August 26, 2005) granting registration as a pharmacy technician subject to restrictions/ conditions.  The decision advised Adams that in order to appeal the decision, she had to file a complaint with this Commission within 30 days of the date of the Board’s decision.  
2. On October 5, 2005, Adams filed a complaint with this Commission by certified mail appealing the Board’s decision.

Conclusions of Law


Section 620.149
 provides:


1.  Whenever a board within the division of professional registration, including the division itself when so empowered, may refuse to issue  a license for reasons which also serve as a basis for filing a complaint with the administrative hearing commission seeking disciplinary action against a holder of a license, the board, as an alternative to refusing to issue a license, may, at its discretion, issue to an applicant a license subject to probation.  

2.  The board shall notify the applicant in writing of the terms of the probation imposed, the basis therefor, and the date such action shall become effective.  The notice shall also advise the applicant of the right to a hearing before the administrative hearing commission, if the applicant files a complaint with the administrative hearing commission within thirty days of the date of delivery or mailing by certified mail of written notice of probation.  If the board issues a probated license, the applicant may file, within thirty days of the date of delivery or mailing by certified mail of written notice of the probation, a written complaint with the administrative hearing commission seeking review of the board’s determination.  
(Emphasis added.)  

Because the Board sent its decision by certified mail, the time for appeal started to run on the date of mailing.  R.B. Industries v. Goldberg, 601 S.W.2d 5, 7 (Mo. banc 1980).  “Delivery” 
refers to transmission other than by mail.  Therefore, the Board properly advised Adams that if she wanted to file an appeal, she was required to file it within 30 days of the date the Board mailed its decision.  Adams’ appeal was filed with this Commission on the date that she mailed it by certified mail.  Section 621.205.1.  Adams did not file her appeal within 30 days after the Board mailed its decision.  This Commission has no jurisdiction to determine claims filed outside the statutory time limit.  Community Federal Savings & Loan Association v. Director of Revenue, 752 S.W.2d 794, 799 (Mo. banc), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 893 (1988).  

Because the appeal was not filed within the 30-day period, we grant the Director’s motion and dismiss the complaint. 


SO ORDERED on November 29, 2005.



_______________________________



KAREN A. WINN 



Commissioner

�Statutory references are to the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri.
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